Modern Hope

Thoughts on the future and the environment

Faces

with 4 comments

Copenhagen, Denmark
December 8, 2009

I have now been in Copenhagen for a day. It has taken me this long to collect my luggage, my hostel key, my UN delegate identification badge, and my thoughts.

The first thing one sees upon exiting the plane in Copenhagen is a massively coordinated environmental advertising campaign. Posters for products meet you before you even enter the terminal – large, glossy, and harshly green. Coca-Cola has signs everywhere declaring “Hopehagen,” featuring modern interpretations of stems and leaves growing from coke bottles. The WWF has advertisements with the archetypal lonely polar bear. And every Danish business would like the thousands of international visitors for this conference to know how well and how long they have been environmentally conscious. But probably the most interesting campaign is a series of politicians’ faces, black and white, enlarged to the point of repulsiveness. In their huge, staring visages, thick cheeks and fleshy noses and dully gleaming eyes, somehow there is displayed all human greed and selfishness. It is grotesque.

I don’t know how to do it, what trick of photoshop or a digital camera can dehumanize a face so, make it so monstrous, but these images scattered throughout the airport are perfectly manipulated to express a concept that people despise. Maybe there is a way to draw out the pouting self-assuredness in the lips, or a technique to make the skin pale and glossy like fat. World leaders all over the airport, their names inscribed beside them in case you can’t recognize them. And by each face is something along the lines of “Sorry. We could have stopped catastrophic environmental change. But we didn’t.”

Those portraits and those words flash in my mind each time I blink my eyes. These men (for they are exclusively men) seem utterly evil. Perhaps, I thought, I need to enter the field of environmental policy, to pit myself against such dangerous and heartless forces. With that in mind, I attended my first meeting of the UN. Now to be clear, this was not a UN side event, the lectures and discussions which will fill the majority of my time here. This was the opening, plenary session of the UN Climate Change Conference. Leadership was elected. Opening remarks were made. Coalitions began to form. And I began to fall asleep. It was like watching curling, or an underwater fight scene. I knew something was going on, and that important moves were being made, but I wasn’t quire sure how or when. Everything was slow and calculated, prepared and choreographed. It was alien and impractical, and gave the feeling of a complete lack of motion. Sudan would like to state its agenda on behalf of the Group 77 nations. Sierra Leone would like to endorse those sentiments, but add that additional consideration be given to funding for reforestation programs. And so on, and so forth. I couldn’t stand more than an hour of it. I had to leave

My muscles are sore. I ache from stored-up energy, from carrying luggage for days and days, from airplane seats and hostel beds. I am still unfocused, still find myself constantly on the edge of nodding off. Even as I write, if I close my eyes for a few seconds, start to sway, then jerk suddenly back up to keep from falling out of my chair. I woke up at 6:30 this morning. Now it’s 4 o’clock in the afternoon and the sun has already set. The sky beyond the glass roof of the Bella Center is absolutely black. I look out at the sea of humanity that has showed up for this conference, over 15,000 delegates from dozens of countries all wandering around, checking emails, talking and laughing, preparing presentations, eating local organic apples sold by a man who rides through the hallways on a bicycle. I see their faces through dirty glasses and squinted eyes. But from here, from this green, carpeted bench under the transplanted trees filling the main hall, here in the most important spot in the world right now, here where I am told evil men hold my very future in their soft, stubby hands, they all seem beautiful.

The people I have met in the last twenty four hours have all had very different faces. Volunteers and students, scientists and politicians, CEOs, lobbyists, and activists. Faces passing by are of every color and shape. Some are lined with worry, others shining with optimism. Their laughter is genuine, their frowns are thoughtful. Nowhere do I find the looming, terrifying face of the men on the posters, the face of Machiavelli or Ebenezer Scrooge. I find human beings, with human thoughts and human motivations. They have greed, yes. And lust. And hatred. But there is selflessness, too. The desire to do good permeates this place – it flows through the hallways and washes over the faces of all who come here. Perhaps that is what is so horrible, so inhuman about those black and white giants. Nowhere in their eyes is there the dimmest bit of hope, which is the single most alienating thing imaginable.

I am so glad such monsters do not exist, or if they do exist, they are not here. The sheer weight of humanity in this city, in this world has pushed them out. Those faces, the evil ones that spring so easily to our minds, are nothing more than excuses and scapegoats. If we cannot achieve change, it simply must be because of a powerful man in a back room whose power and lack of caring are infinite. I no longer believe in that. If there is failure in Copenhagen, will not be because of soulless leaders and policymakers. No, the face of that failure will be mine and yours.

-Josh

Written by modernhope

December 8, 2009 at 4:35 pm

Posted in Josh's Posts

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You last sentiment was very true, the fault lies within every person on this planet with a pulse. (of course that is a bit exagerated but nonehtheless…)I am ready for some pictures to be posted, I must admit. Especially of the apple man who sounds like a most cheerful fellow.
    By the way, you should submit this blog to “The Sun” magazine. It would, without a doubt in my mind, be published in the non-fiction section of one of the issues. Just a though…
    Continue on and have a blast!

    Austin Smartt

    December 8, 2009 at 8:33 pm

  2. Hey Josh,

    My little joke teller has grown up!!! LOL
    I made Ramon come upstairs so I could read your blog to him – of course he has no idea what a “blog” is!!
    What a trip of a liftime you are on. I am jealous.
    You could have taken me along to make D-Hots or Hamburgers??
    Have fun, I am looking forward to your next blog.
    Phillis, Ramon and Mojo (the spoiled puppy dog)

    Ramon and Phillis Gonzalez

    December 8, 2009 at 11:18 pm

  3. As a human being, there are needs which I (and you) need filled daily: we have to eat we have to sleep, we go to work or school, talk to those we are with – or those we love from afar… The things we focus on daily run our lives, we are so involved with the things that we must do that we do not always stop to look around, to think about the other people in the room with us, or the people around the world. The world in which we live is changing rapidly and all of us are simply trying to keep up; however, there is more that we can do – more that we should do. When we go to school and work, when we go to the grocery store or CVS, we can spread hope – at least a little bit, even if only with a smile. When we take a break at work or from school, instead of playing games or checking facebook, we could think about what is happening in the world, our place in it, what we could do to better it. I have tried to train myself to do this, to think of those around me, to do something that might bring joy to another person or something that could help me to help the earth a better place – I smile constantly (if I can) and dance occasionally to cheer people up, I do my best to do the simple things like recycling and turning out lights, everyday I try to do something consciously so that I am required to think of the changing world and what I want to contribute to its future.

    Christina

    December 9, 2009 at 3:48 am

  4. I love this post! The halls of dehumanized faces that would cause severe gastric pains to the onlooker, definitely contains some epic musical inspiration! Thanks for standing up for mother Earth. I’m very hopeful for a positive outcome.

    Jason

    December 11, 2009 at 4:25 am


Leave a comment