Modern Hope

Thoughts on the future and the environment

Announcement

leave a comment »

Copenhagen, Denmark
December 14, 2009

Today I take a break from my general philosophic tone to make an announcement. I am now officially out of the loop.

Apparently, for reasons known only to the United Nations, several thousand more people were accepted as delegates than can actually fit inside Bella Center. So I will not be allowed to attend the conference tomorrow. Or the next day. I will be attending from 9 until 2:30 on Thursday. And then the conference will be over.

All delegations have suffered cuts, especially the bigger ones that are not directly influential. The groups of youth are the ones who have felt this the hardest. But, everyone, young and old, influential or not, has had their access limited. More than ten thousand people who came here to make their voices heard have been told that space is just too restrictive.

I’m not sure what will be going on over the next two days. I have been wishing for a chance to do some more sightseeing, and now I have my opportunity. I’m sure I’ll be doing some writing on whatever I see. It is hard not to be extremely disappointed in the way this conference is being conducted, but I’ll do my best to keep everyone informed.

-Josh

Written by modernhope

December 14, 2009 at 4:01 pm

Posted in Josh's Posts

Leave a comment